Statutory Rape Lawyer Madison, Wisconsin
As a statutory rape lawyer in Madison, I represent clients in rape and sexual assault cases. Rape and sexual assault is taken seriously in Wisconsin, and the potential incarceration terms are significant.
If you have been charged with statutory rape, rape, or sexual assault, I would invite you to call me to learn how I can help. I offer fixed fee representation, provide a free consult, and accept credit card payments.
What Constitutes Statutory Rape?
Statutory rape refers to sex between two individuals, at least one of whom is under the applicable age of consent. Prosecutors often level statutory rape charges in cases in which where a victim was both underage and clearly did not consent to sex, and also where there the victim was much younger than the perpetrator, or in cases in which the perpetrator was an adult and the victim was underage.
If the victim is underage, the prosecution does not have to show that there was not consent. Instead, they only need to prove that sex occurred, and that the victim was underage, which makes securing a conviction easier compared to having to prove that there was no consent.
What is the Age of Consent in Wisconsin?
The age of consent in Wisconsin is 18. As a result, those who are under this age are not able to give consent.
What are the Penalties for Statutory Rape in Wisconsin?
The penalties for statutory rape in Wisconsin depend upon the age of the victim, as follows:
- If the victim is under the age of 13 – Sexual Assault of a Child in the First Degree (Class B Felony punishable by up to 60 years imprisonment)
- If the victim is under the age of 16 – Sexual Assault of a Child in the Second Degree (Class C Felony punishable by up to 40 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000)
- If the victim is between the ages of 16 and 18 – Misdemeanor Sexual Assault of a Minor in the First Degree (Class A Misdemeanor). This does not apply in cases where the victim is married to the defendant.
Two Teenagers Younger That 18 are Dating and Have Sex. Will They Be Charged?
In most cases, if the two people are 16 or 17 and have consensual sex, prosecutors will not make a charge for statutory rape. However, there is not anything in Wisconsin law that provides an exemption from such a charge.
How I Help
As a Madison statutory rape lawyer, I defend clients charge with statutory rape, rape, and sexual assault. If you have been charged with one of these crimes, I invite you to call me for a free consultation as soon as possible.